';
side-area-logo

The Pulse of Time
AN IMMERSIVE FICTION AT THE HEART OF LOUVRE ABU DHABI

LOUVRE ABU DHABI, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES / 2020

A story is being written as the geolocated visitors wander the galleries of Louvre Abu Dhabi, discovering the various artworks. Voices, music and sounds evolve according to the visitors’ movements, pace and path. Recorded in six languages (English, French, German, Mandarin, Russian and Arabic) and played through headphones, this immersive narrative is a call to discover our world heritage through art, its history and its major political role.

Has government always been the art of staging power to secure authority, legitimacy and prestige? Could this timeless adage be a red herring, a farce and a ruse? And what if, under the disguise of a submissive, affable liegeman, art had actually taken over; and in which case, how can we, in our day and age, find a new way to tell its story? The history of its insane power and genius, its unique way of building strong, yet invisible, connections between the people and the world around them? What if art history boiled down to the one single question our narrator asks implicitly: can the world and mankind be saved by the beauty of a single piece of art?

THE PULSE OF TIME
An immersive,
interactive narrative

We were commissioned by the Louvre Abu Dhabi to make The Pulse of Time for the permanent collection, in collaboration with NOUS DIGITAL, an Austrian company specialized in making digital devices. Their digital sound system, NOUS SONIC, is an interactive and immersive tool that plays sounds that can trigger, mix and spatialize each sound according to each visitor’s journey and movements. Visitors choose their own story according where they go, changing it as they wander around.

With : Irène Jacob, Charles Dance, Stefan Konarske, Lan Qiu, Dinara Drukarova, Saoud Alkaabi

Text : Stéphane Michaka

Music : Jonathan Morali

Direction : Alexandre Plank et Antoine Richard

Production : Amélie Billault

Client logo
Client logo

GET

in touch

DISCOVER

all the projects

';
side-area-logo

The Pulse of Time
une fiction immersive au coeur du Louvre Abu Dhabi

LOUVRE ABU DHABI, ÉMIRATS ARABES / 2020

À travers les galeries du Musée du Louvre Abu Dhabi, une histoire s’écrit à mesure que les visiteurs, géolocalisés, se déplacent parmi les œuvres. Les voix, la musique et les sons évoluent en fonction de leurs mouvements, de leur vitesse et de leurs parcours. Enregistrée en six langues (anglais, français, allemand, mandarin, russe et arabe) et diffusée sous casques, cette fiction immersive est une invitation à la découverte d’un patrimoine universel : celui de l’art, de son histoire et de son rôle politique majeur.

Gouverner a-t-il toujours été l’art de mettre en scène son pouvoir afin d’asseoir son autorité, sa légitimité et son prestige ? Ou bien cette assertion depuis la nuit des temps ne serait qu’un leurre, une mascarade et une ruse ? Et si l’art avait usurpé le pouvoir en se faisant passer pour docile et soumis, pour affable et courtisan, comment alors raconter son histoire aujourd’hui, autrement ? L’histoire de sa folle puissance et de son génie, de sa manière unique de tisser des liens invisibles et puissants entre les hommes et le monde qui les entoure ? Peut-être que toute histoire de l’art finalement ne tiendrait alors qu’en une seule question, question que pose entre les lignes le narrateur de notre récit : le monde et les hommes peuvent-ils être sauvés par la beauté d’une œuvre ?

THE PULSE OF TIME
UNE FICTION IMMERSIVE
ET INTERACTIVE

The Pulse of time est une commande du Louvre Abu Dhabi créée pour l’exposition permanente en collaboration avec NOUS DIGITAL, une société autrichienne spécialisée dans la conception d’outils numériques. Leur système audio-digital NOUS SONIC est un dispositif de diffusion interactif et immersif permettant d’activer, de mixer et de spatialiser chaque son en fonction des déplacements individuels et des mouvements des visiteurs. Ceux-ci, par leur choix et leur parcours, deviennent ainsi les acteurs d’un récit qu’ils transforment au gré de leur flânerie.

Avec : Irène Jacob, Charles Dance, Stefan Konarske, Lan Qiu, Dinara Drukarova, Saoud Alkaabi

Texte : Stéphane Michaka

Musique : Jonathan Morali

Réalisation : Alexandre Plank et Antoine Richard

Production : Amélie Billault

Client logo
Client logo

ENTRER

en contact

DÉCOUVRIR

tous les projets